ECCG Awards Night 2014

sponsor logo bar
Platform 3                    Barkers               O'Leary's                     Art and Frame

Awards night. 103-2

John Finn ARPS with ECCG Photographer of the Year 2014, Karen Fleming

ECCG members and their families and friends gathered in The Midleton Park Hotel on Friday 21/11/14 for the annual awards night. With competitions throughout the year feeding into the prestigious Photographer of the Year award, the build up to this night was palpable in recent weeks.

Photographer of the Year was not the only award on offer on the night however, as best in Grades A, B and C, best in Category, best Panel, best New Photographer and Club Person of the Year also had to be revealed.

Judging was carried out by Mr. John Finn, ARPS, Travel and Portrait photographer, Mr. Rowan Thornhill and pictures editor of The Evening Echo, Mr. Brian Lougheed.

Following a fine meal expertly provided by the staff of Midleton Park Hotel, the formal proceedings were opened by secretary, Anthony O'Connor and, following short speeches by chairman, Denis Barry and special guest, Mr. John Finn ARPS, treasurer, Kevin Day and PRO, Mervyn Daly announced the prize winners which went as follows:

Panel 1st - Adrian Newcombe
First: Adrian Newcombe

Panel 2nd - Anthony OConnor
Second: Anthony O'Connor

Panel 3rd - John Tait
Third: John Tait

Best Landscape - Denis Barry
Best Landscape: Denis Barry

Best Seascape - Denis Barry
Best Seascape: Denis Barry

Best Portrait - Fergus Kenneally
Best Portrait: Fergus Kenneally

Best Nature - John Tait
Best Nature: John Tait

Joint Best Sport - Denis OFlynn
Best Sport (joint): Denis O'Flynn

Joint Best Sport - Jim ONeill
Best Sport (joint): Jim O'Neill

Best Macro - Karen Fleming
Best Macro: Karen Fleming

Best Archictecture - Anthony OConnor
Best Architecture: Anthony O'Connor

Best Travel - Anthony OConnor
Best Travel: Anthony O'Connor

Best Black & White - Lorna ODwyer
Best Black and White: Lorna O'Dwyer

Best HDR - Anthony OConnor
Best HDR (High Dynamic Range): Anthony O'Connor

Best Reportage_Documentary - Denis Barry
Best Reportage/Documentary: Denis Barry

Best Open Category - Adrian Newcombe
Best Open: Adrian Newcombe

Awards Night 2014-29

Best in Category Winners: l-r: Denis O'Flynn - Sport, Denis Barry - Landscape, Seascape, Reportage/Documentary, John Tait - Nature, John Finn - Competition Judge, Anthony O'Connor - Architecture, Travel, HDR, Fergus Kenneally - Portrait, Karen Fleming - Macro, Lorna O'Dwyer - Black and White, Adrian Newcombe - Open, Jim O'Neill - Sport


Grade A

Grade B

Grade C

Best New Member of the Year: Trevor O'Connell

Best Club Person of the Year: Susan Meaney

Photographer of the Year (POTY)
First: Karen Fleming
Second: Finbarr O'Shea
Third: Denis Barry

Photographer of the Year - Winning Portfolio - Karen Fleming


Congratulations to all award recipients and especially, Karen Fleming, Photographer of the Year, 2014. Well done too to everyone else who entered as a point or two given in another direction would have seen some of these in the prizes, such was the closeness of the final scores.

A big thank you goes to the three judges who did a stellar job. While the important task of awarding points was their main function, their feedback is equally important as it is vital that everyone gets an objective assessment of their work which can be factored into the fine tuning for the future.

Finally, thanks to our sponsors (click on the links to visit their websites) for the night and also to The Midleton Park Hotel for providing a beautiful meal and surroundings for a memorable night.

Mouse over the image below to activate the slideshow. Enjoy!


All images from the Awards night by Finbarr O'Shea and Fidelma Read.

sponsor logo bar
Platform 3                    Barkers               O'Leary's                     Art and Frame



One thought on “ECCG Awards Night 2014

  1. Fantastic Night All Round. Well Done To Committee For Organization, All Members Who Submitted Portfolios, Judges Who Took Time Out To View Them All & Congratulations To Winners & Hotel Staff For Lovely Meal Also.

    Also Well Done & Congrats To Fidelma On Recent LIPF

    Roll On Next Year


Comments are closed.